National Senior Certificate


The College has been housed within its own section of the campus since January 2003 and it has a very proud record of academic excellence.  Apart from academic excellence, the tranquil location and the values-based system that Grantleigh offers, set it apart.


The College runs from Grade 8 – Grade 12 and is separated into two phases:

1. Middle School (Grade 8 – 9)
2. NSC phase (Grade 10 – 12) who write the IEB National Senior Certificate.


As an independent school, Grantleigh enters their Grade 12 pupils in the Independent Examinations Board final exams, therefore they compete against the top independent schools in South Africa.  Assessment for the National Senior Certificate is based on a portfolio of evidence which constitutes 25% of the mark and the final examination which constitutes 75% of the mark.  Some subjects, such as Art and Drama, which have a large practical element carry a higher percentage of the portfolio.  All portfolio work is externally moderated.


Subjects offered by Grantleigh:

  • English (home language)
  • Afrikaans (1st additional language)
  • isiZulu (1st additional language)
  • Mathematics
  • Mathematical Literacy
  • Physical Science
  • Life Sciences
  • Business Studies
  • Accounting
  • Visual Arts
  • Dramatic Arts
  • Geography
  • Information Technology
  • Engineering, Graphics & Design
  • Life Orientation
  • Consumer Studies

The focus at Grantleigh is on providing a holistic education where academics are balanced with culture, sport and decent values.  However, to encourage academic achievement, a system of Gold Bars operates to recognise the top academic performers in each grade per term.

The Aiglon Society

(The Little Eagles) is designed to give our top academic achievers recognition and to continue to stimulate them both academically and culturally.  We also aim to extend their awareness of the community around them and to offer talks and excursion, bearing in mind the time constraints and their commitment to their present timetable.

Gold Bars

Gold bars are awarded at the end of each term to those pupils who have achieved an overall aggregate of 80% (Grade 10) or 75% (Grade 11 - 12). To achieve an academic badge at the annual Prize Giving Ceremony, a learner needs to achieve an annual average percentage of 80% (Grade 10) or 75% (Grade 11 - 12).